alanwilliamson

Alan Williamson's personal output as a Java Champion, BlueDragon Founder, J2EE Architect,
Large Scale Cloud expert, Author, Speaker, and Internet Guru

The Proclaimers in concert at Carlisle

The Proclaimers opened their UK tour last night in Carlisle. Post concert reflection now that the cold light of day has hit and my ears are beginning to not ring as much.
Saturday, 10 October 2009

I want to believe

After a failed X-Files movie experience, I take comfort in the fact that Edgar Mitchell (6th man on the moon) is flying the flag proudly for aliens living amongst us all.
Monday, 28 July 2008

Google Web Toolkit Applications (Book Review)

The book 'Googel Web Toolkit Applications' from Ryan Dewsbury is an excellent read for the GWT developer. Filled with rich complex examples exploring all the areas of the GWT API.
Wednesday, 18 June 2008

3 dongle + Terminal 5 = 8

Having now arrived back in the UK, and with a few hours to kill, I can test the 3 USB mobile broadband dongle
Saturday, 19 April 2008

3 Mobile Broadband USB stick - First Look

UK mobile operator 3 have given me their new USB stick that gets you onto the Internet from anywhere to trial. It is a wonderful piece of kit that works very well so far.
Monday, 7 April 2008

The concert to which all others are measured against; Jools Holland

Jools Holland has just finished in Glasgow and after a couple of hours of non stop, foot tapping, hand clapping, hips wiggling music, I am in awe of what a humble piano can do.
Sunday, 9 December 2007

3SkypePhone - the final roundup

After a number of weeks with the new 3SkypePhone, I offer my final musings and thoughts.
Sunday, 18 November 2007

3SkyePhone - the reasoning behind the Skype button and camera placement

Last week, I received a long and well written email from the "Director and GM, Handsets and Applications" Frank Meehan from Hutchison (the company that owns Three). He explained that his group was responsible for putting together the 3Skyphone
Sunday, 18 November 2007

3SkypePhone - One week on

My 3SkypePhone and I went on a trip to London. This highlighted a number of interesting issues, including a complete inability to hold a video call!
Tuesday, 6 November 2007

Day 3 with 3SkypePhone - chinks in the armor start to appear

Day 3 of the SkypePhone from 3 and after some long Skype calls, some problems start to surface.
Wednesday, 31 October 2007

Dedicated Skype phone continues to impress

Day2 with the new 3SkypePhone from 3. The wonders of the USB port is revealed.
Tuesday, 30 October 2007

The 3SkypePhone Arrives ... first thoughts

3 have released their much hyped Skype phone. I have been lucky to receive a couple of review units and so far, I like it. Here is the first thoughts on the beast.
Monday, 29 October 2007

Grand Prix Snooker Final: Fu vs. O'Sullivan

The final of the 2007 Grand Prix Snooker at Aberdeen see's Ronnie O'Sullivan play off Marco Fu. Its a tense match so far, with no clear winner yet!
Sunday, 21 October 2007

Runrig - before and after Donnie

Runrig's Loch Ness concert isn't too many weeks away. But will it be the same without Donnie Munro? I have inserted 2 YouTube videos here to compare the two different lead singers. You be the judge.
Tuesday, 7 August 2007

You've seen Paul McCartney's new 'Dance Tonight' video yes?

Check out Paul McCartney's new Dance Tonight video, with a sprinkling of stars dotted in and around the shoot.
Thursday, 7 June 2007

Have you found Carla Bruni yet?

Carla Bruni is an Italian singer/songwriter who with just 2 albums to her name, should be in any ones collection who craves for good solid female vocals.
Friday, 18 May 2007

Keith Douglas 'Babys On Fire' recorded live @ Edinburgh (Video)

Watch Keith Douglas performing his toe-tapping "Baby's on Fire" from this weekends May gig in Edinburgh. An artist to keep an eye on.
Tuesday, 8 May 2007

Watching Live Snooker using the Nokia N800

Watching the World Snooker Championship around the house is a breeze if you have a Nokia N800 in your pocket!
Tuesday, 24 April 2007

Pairing the Stowaway keyboard with a Nokia N800

Pairing the Stowaway bluetooth keyboard with the Nokia N800 can be a little tricky, if you don't know how. Here is the secret sauce/steps!
Friday, 20 April 2007

Living with a Nokia N800 - the 2 week review

Internet tablets, pah, what's that all about? Toys for rich kids that don't have anything better to spend their money on. This was my view of them, until a good friend of mine persuaded me to go and get a Nokia N800. My life changed.
Thursday, 19 April 2007


 

Recent Cloud posts

Recent JAVA posts

Latest CFML posts


 
Site Links